Hong Kong Explored and More

One of my Hong Kong shots was chosen for Explore the other day on Flickr! That’s always exciting. I have no idea how it happens. Sometimes I go a long time without anything being picked, and a few times it was a couple weeks in a row. I don’t think any of those times I’d uploaded shots that were necessarily gobs better than other stuff I’d uploaded but hey, I’m not the best editor so who knows. Most of the shots on Explore are pretty amazing, some a bit suspect but whatever, Still stoked to have been picked.

Anyway, here’s the shot, along with some other black and white I’d shot with the Leica on our way over to Kowloon.

Cart - explored!

Cart – explored! | Leica M6 12mm Voigtlander Arista 400 Film

Cane

Cane

Kowloon Bus

Kowloon Bus

Pirates for Sale

Pirates for Sale

Hong Kong MTR

Hong Kong MTR

Cooked Food Dude

Cooked Food Dude

Pick Up

Pick Up

Before heading to Kowloon I also shot a lot more color stuff over around Wan Chai.  In the shopping district they’d set up a faux set for the movie “Frankenweenie” that had just come out. We’d been excited to see it but waited ’til we got back to the states to do so. However we still took a few shots with the props for fun.

Outside Frankenweenie's Gate

Outside Frankenweenie’s Gate

On the set of Frankenweenie?

On the set of Frankenweenie?

Sparky's view

Sparky’s view

Lily and Sparky

Lily and Sparky

Frankenweenie Set

Frankenweenie Set

Orange

Orange

Nikes

Nikes

Dude! Really? Why on earth would you shoot a photo of some Nikes? Because they changed my life. Seriously? Yep. Last visit to Taiwan I’m wearing some crappy New Balance that I’d bought in the clearance rack at Sears and had been wearing for almost a year or more and my feet were killing me. Previous trips I’d wear what I’ve been wearing for the past 30 some years. Whatever skate shoes I happened to have at the time. Vans usually. On those previous trips my feet would seriously be KILLING ME! I racked it up to all the abuse I’d given them over the years jumping down stairs or running out of tricks in concrete bowls or whatever but just years of skateboarding abuse meant that I’d be sitting down in my late 30’s while people in their 60’s were trouncing past me.

Then in Taichung we were walking past a bunch of shoe stores and my feet were just brutal. I decided to try on one of those fancy looking running shoes that looked so comfy. Holy crap! Seriously! It was like walking on down feathered pillows! Of course I couldn’t stand how ugly they were but man were they comfy! So I ditched to NB’s and left with the Nikes. I haven’t bought an uncomfortable pair of shoes since then. The rest of that years Taiwan trip my feet were instantly better and I could walk all day. Before this Hong Kong trip I’d picked up an amazing (and pricey) pair of Merrel’s and my oh my, I think I like them even better than the Nikes! I didn’t have one instance of foot pain. Of course I also lost 40 pounds last year so that probably helped a bit too. Still though, I’m a firm believer in buying good ass shoes for yourself, especially if you’re going to be traveling and walking for 8 or more hours a day!

Our first couple days we spent in a fancy room at the Regal iClub Hotel in Wan Chai. HUGE room! I think that all the other rooms we stayed in the rest of our HK trip could have fit in here.

Lily Regal iClub Hotel

Lily Regal iClub Hotel Room with view, I got some cool time-lapse stuff out the window I’ll be sharing at some point.

In the hotel elevator

In the hotel elevator

Hong Kong Color

Hong Kong Color

Fortune

Fortune

Reebok Eternity

Eternity

Hui Lau Shan Healthy Dessert

Hui Lau Shan Healthy Dessert

Quite possible one of my new favorite places to eat on earth. Once we discovered it and noticed they were all the over the place we ate their at least once a day! It was rather warm in HK and the cool mango treats were a perfect way to cool down and relax and yeah, they were just plain delicious! The cooked food at the place looked a bit suspicious but the mango stuff and whatever gelatinous rice ball what have you that Lily would get were super good. Just discovered while looking this place up that they have a sister chain in SF called Creations Dessert House which I will be going to ASAP!

Peak Escalator

Peak Escalator

So being in Hong Kong in October meant we for sure had to head up to the Peak! Last time we were here was in the winter and it was nothing but a veil of clouds and fog. This time it was a perfectly clear day and we headed off in time to catch sunset from the amazing view! However, we took the general travel guide advice to take the Tram. Bad idea. We waited in line for well over an hour and missed sunset. Last time we went up we just took a regular bus and got up there pretty fast. Wish we would have done so this time as well. It was massively crowded with kids pushing you and just being dicks in general. Pretty annoying and not worth the view you can barely see because you’re stuck in the little ass tram like a friggin’ sardine anyway and just trying not to fall over. Yeah, If we go again I’m most certainly going to take the bus. The view was still nice and clear. I shot some time lapse I’ll post at some point but also some panos etc that I’ll share right now!

Hong Kong Peak

Hong Kong Peak

Hong Kong Peak Tram

Hong Kong Peak Tram

Hong Kong Peak Pano

Hong Kong Peak Pano

Hong Kong Peak Tower

Hong Kong Peak Tower

Next time in Hong Kong I’d like to do the hikes that are around here. Any of you ever done them?

Then we headed back to the shopping area in the Wanch for something to eat. I think the place we’d read about in our travel guide was gone so we just picked some random Spicy Crab place that was over priced and not terribly good:( Got some decent pics though.

Taxi and Bike

Taxi and Bike

BPE

BPE

Hong Kong Focus

Hong Kong Focus – yep, the D600 suffers in the low light auto focus dept. Somehow I sorta like how out of focus this one is though.

Titanic Package

Check it out, Titanic Package (say that in your best Beavis and Butthead voice)

All color above was shot with Nikon D600 and my trusty old 20mm F2.8(except the hotel room was Sigma 12-24). Black and white with Leica M6 and Voigtlander 12mm with Arista film. If you want settings etc just click on any of the pics and they’ll take you to Flickr where they’re right there on the bottom right. Thanks for reading, much more to come!

4 thoughts on “Hong Kong Explored and More

  1. Well, Son, if I never get out of Central Illinois again, I can still tell people about my travels around the world. Your photography is so wonderful and inspiring to my heart. It’s almost as though I traveled with you. I love the way your describe your work; it’s like a story on film. Aren’t you glad you took that photography class your senior year when you needed “sumthin” to take up 1 last hour to graduate? I LOVE you Mr. Canderson. Mom

Leave a Reply

