World Wide Photowalk 2012 and a sad note

This was the first year I was actually able to join in on a Scott Kelby World Wide Photowalk day event. Previous years have always found me tied up with some thing or another. This year however we were going to be in Taiwan! What a great way to get a start. I did a search for Taipei and found that a great Taiwan based travel photographer named Craig Ferguson was going to be hosting a walk at the Raohe street night market. We signed up and were super excited to meet up with everyone and shoot away.

Unfortunately we had very little time in Taiwan this time around. I’ve been wanting to check out the Maokong tea growing area on the south end of Taipei on previous visits but never had time. Wasn’t going to miss out this time so we got up early and headed out there. I’ll save that for another blog post. We got a little carried away with time and were busy sipping delightful mountain tea when I realized it was 4:30 and time for the Photowalk all the way down the mountain and a few MRT stops away! We hopped a bus down instead of the beautiful gondola and actually made decent time.

Didn’t get to the market until around 6pm. Oops. Went to the Ciyou temple and did some shooting and ran into to a couple of guys who were with the Photowalk. I think they were from Canada originally judging by the accents and a maple leaf tattoo I spotted, but now both based in Taipei. We chatted briefly but went on our way to shoot some of the actual market as well. Did one sorta quick loop around the stalls and then headed to the train station to meet up with others.

Ciyou Temple. Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4 lens

Ciyou Temple. Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4 lens

Ciyou Temple. Taipei, Taiwan

The two guys I met had both shot this guy too. | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8 lens

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-3

Self at Ciyou Temple.Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4 lens

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-4

Ciyou Temple. Songshan District, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-5

Ciyou Temple. Songshan District, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-6

Ciyou Temple. Songshan District, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

I think everyone probably shot this dude so even though I like the shot I didn’t enter it.

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-7

Raohe Night Market, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

This is probably my favorite from the actual time we had for the Photowalk and my entry in the “contest” thingy. PS I won the contest for this walk with it! Got a LR4 book!

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-8

Raohe Night Market, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-9

Raohe Night Market, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

Chicken soup with Goji berries

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-10

Raohe Night Market, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

On the way to meet up with the group I started getting the scooter pan bug again.

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-11

Raohe Night Market, Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 24mm F1.4

We went to the train station and saw a bunch of people standing around with cameras, must be the group. I sorta smiled and nodded at some folks but one guy sorta caught our attention. A super friendly fella originally from Texas who’s pretty much spent time all over the world and now based in Taipei. We talked a bit about photography etc and yeah, I just love Texans. Said Hello to one other guy as well. As we were headed to meet the group we came across a Bao Bing place that was laying heavy on our minds. We were both really in the mood for said wonderful icey treat so said our “goodbyes” and headed off back to the market.

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-12

Raohe Night Market. Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

World Wide Photowak Day 2012-13

Raohe Night Market. Taipei, Taiwan | Nikon D600 85mm F1.8

We sat and enjoyed our treats and I shot some more pics. The best one of course being right as we were leaving the market and well after the walk had ended. Sorta feel bad the we didn’t get to introduce ourselves to more photographers or even Craig the group leader. When we were headed out to get the desserts I didn’t see him around. Pretty sure I saw him as we were walking up though. Perhaps we’ll make it back next year?

This is the one I really wanted to enter. Oh well, next year indeed. In-Camera double exposure using the “overlay” feature. Yeah, I’m diggin’ the new D600.

Mustache Ride

Mustache Ride outside the Raohe Night Market
Songshan District, Taipei, Taiwan

On a much crappier note. One of my best friends was recently hit by a drunk driver in Chicago and is now laying in a coma. I have high hopes that he’ll make it out of it but for now we’re just waiting.  He and his friends and family can use all the thoughts and prayers the world can give. For all I know a few of you might actually know him. Reggie Destin is an inspiration in many people’s lives not just mine. Dude that is always making stuff happen. One of the people at the hospital asked my other friend if he was a “celebrity.” The truth is “yes.” Hell, he was just out here for my wedding and bachelor party and getting texts to come meet up with one of the most famous skateboarders of all time. He’s one of the main reasons I decided to really start shooting skateboarding. When I was down on myself or whatever he’d always PUSH me to keep shooting and just encourage me overall. I wouldn’t be the photographer I am today without him.

I’m having a show with Lily next week at the Rite Spot in San Francisco. 100 percent of my sales will be going here

http://www.gofundme.com/reggiedestin

I’ll be doing a post about it when it’s ready and perhaps be selling some prints online too.

Thanks and get well soon buddy.

3 thoughts on “World Wide Photowalk 2012 and a sad note

    • I choose the tones for a reason. I know how to properly set wb. I work at a lab and have to do it all the time. I choose not to with some of my stuff. Usually not with wedding stuff but for personal stuff, I like “off” colors. When I only shot color film I shot a lot of cross process. Now in digital I tend to do it in my post work. Proper white balance usually bores me. Again could be because of working in a lab and constantly having to color correct other peoples work.

Leave a Reply

