Love and a Leica

Got married last week. It was awesome. I’ll post some shots here at some point. Some BTS stuff perhaps that I shot with my Leica. Whuh? Your Leica, isn’t that in the shop you say? I mentioned in my last post that I’d hoped to get it back before the wedding and walla! Two days before I get the call that it’s ready for pick up! Leave work a little early, lady friend drives way to fast out to Walnut Creek, lets me out ahead of traffic, I run down the street and up the stairs right as Hal is closing the door! Holy crud that was close. Couldn’t believe we’d made it. Got the camera, still covered by warranty. Works like a charm. Seriously, love the folks at Camera West.
Camera worked great all weekend. I didn’t shoot all that much (only a fool would shoot his own wedding, right?) but enough to get a bts feel.
Actually, wedding fun aside, the real reason for this post is just to share some stuff I’d shot with the Leica even before I took it in. Here’s a few snaps from over the summer.

Lily wanted to get her tattoo fixed before the wedding. After researching a lot of the local folks we found Hector Fong at Tattoo 13 in Oakland. Probably some of the best work I’ve seen in some time. I’ve been out of getting tattooed for several years. However, if I could figure out a place to put a new one I’d for sure have him do it.

Hector Fong Tattoos Lily

Hector Fong Tattoos Lily

Forgot that it hurts a bit…

Lily Tattooed by Hector Fong

Lily Tattooed by Hector Fong

Checking out the books

Lily at Tattoo 13

Lily at Tattoo 13

Speaking of pain (not really). Shot a great wedding a couple months ago. Ceremony was at the Stanford church. Super strict about photography. I just sat up in the balcony and shot with my 70-200. It worked out quite well actually. A week before the wedding we went down to scope it out. Here’s a little 12mm goodness for ya.

Stanford Church

Stanford Church

Mom back in Illinois from in May. She was just out in Cali for the wedding, we had a great time.

Mom at Breakfast

Mom at Breakfast

This is where the ceremony was. It wasn’t foggy though. Perfect sunny day but with a touch of cold air probably from the ocean.

See you tomorrow

Chinese Pavilion on Stow Lake

As far as I know nobody got pooped on.

Stow Lake Leica

Stow Lake Leica

Unfortunately I didn’t see any chubby weiner dogs on our wedding day. Too bad Frank and Tootsie (Mom’s doxies) couldn’t make it.

Little Chubby Weiner at Stow Lake

Little Chubby Weiner at Stow Lake

No shortage of squirrels though

Stow Lake Squirrel

Stow Lake Squirrel

I would have had it no other way.

5 thoughts on “Love and a Leica

  1. Awesome. Congrats on the wedding and the repaired Leica. Shooting with an analog rangefinder (regardless of branding) is really one of the great pleasures in life. Serene and peaceful…enjoy it for many years to come!

Leave a Reply

