Odaiba Night

I’m not sure what prompted us to head to the large artificial island of Odaiba. I guess perhaps we just wanted some photos of the Rainbow bridge at night and maybe to check out the giant Ferris wheel and statue of liberty. Didn’t find the statue but did get a bunch of shots of the bridge. We were in the park after dark and it was a bit quiet, spooky and cold. I was running around and about climbing over stuff trying to get a better view. Hanging my legs over a big drop that would’ve meant a broken bone or more if I’d fell. All the while Lily just seemed annoyed and ready to leave.

After the bridge shots we hiked it over to where the big wheel was. Tokyo Leisure Land is what it’s called I guess. It had a Toyota dealer/small museum and giant arcade inside that had all the trappings of a Chicago’s Navy Pier or San Francisco’s Fisherman’s wharf. Most annoyingly though was when I lost too many coins trying to win a Ninja Domokun for Lily in one of those stupid crane games! Otherwise it was not terribly exciting and from what we could tell there wasn’t any good food to be found. And what looked sorta good was also stupidly expensive. I think we just ended up eating random goodies from a convenience market near our hotel. If I recall it wasn’t all that bad and certainly more within our budget.

The worst memory I have of the trip to Odaiba was, however, the business man in his late 20’s or early 30’s who while in his nice suit, on the train, probably coming home from work at his decent paying job. Didn’t seem to have time to stop by a convenience store. Or else just preferred, to pick his nose and yep, eat it up. Right there on the train. Of course I had to watch and my stomach’s still queezy just thinking about it. Yuck. What on earth could prompt a grown ass man to do that? I know they eat some strange stuff in the Asia’s but boogs? C’mon…. If I’d had a longer lens I might of shot it. Sorta glad I didn’t.

Oh well, I suppose I got some ok shots. Hope it was worth it. Next time in Tokyo I’m not sure I’ll be going back to Odaiba. Or if we do it’ll be earlier so we can get a better idea of what’s around and maybe catch a bus instead of walking seemingly aimlessly.

All photos shot with the D700 and Sigma 12-24mm lens, except the Time-lapse which was shot with my Ricoh GRD2. I recommend viewing the panoramic shots large. Just click on them and hit “L” on your keyboard. Bam! Big ol’ full screen pics!

Five Thirty-Five

Five Thirty-Five

Was feeling a little off either because I’d seen a dude eat a booger or I knew I was about to.

Tokyo De-escalation

Tokyo De-escalation

Luckily we had a little LED flashlight with us and I was able to light paint this obelisk. Not for long though because Lily has terrible night vision and wanted it back.

Rainbow Bridge and Obelisk

Rainbow Bridge and Obelisk

Wasn’t supposed to be where I was for this shot.

Tokyo Rainbow Bridge 1

Tokyo Rainbow Bridge 1

You can’t really tell from these next two but I was on the edge of a sorta tall drop and it was sorta scary. Mostly because it was so dark and nobody else was around.

Rainbow Bridge Pano 2

Rainbow Bridge Pano 2

Rainbow Bridge Pano 1

Rainbow Bridge Pano 1

Just sorta walking around not knowing where to go. Saw these buildings and clouds and took a shot.

Odaiba buildings

Odaiba buildings

Walk towards the pretty lights…

Daikanransha Ferris wheel

Daikanransha Ferris wheel

Second only to the London Eye in size, however way to cold to ride on this night.

Daikanransha Ferris wheel from Below

Daikanransha Ferris wheel from Below

Lily rides a big Odaiba pig!!!

Lily rides a big Odaiba pig!!!

Back at our hotel I imagined what it would look like if I turned our room into a Camera Obscura by doing in camera double exposures.

Tokyo Obscura

Tokyo Obscura

Room with a View

Room with a View

It’s pretty crazy the hotel room we scored. Not sure why but it wasn’t all that expensive. We’ve looked again since returning and it’s already like twice as much as when we were there. The view was amazing and I was able to shoot a couple good time-lapses. Here’s one now. I’m sure it won’t look too great on Flickr because they destroy video in their “processing”. I’ll probably be doing a compilation video of all the Asia stuff at some point and put it on Vimeo or something.

One thought on “Odaiba Night

Leave a Reply

