Leica in the Loop and some old faves

Before the Friday show we took the El down to the loop to get some more film from my old camera shop Central Camera. We didn’t stick around too long because it was right at the beginning of the whole N.A.T.O conference and protest that was going on. As much as part of me wanted to be down there for the action, I flew to Chicago to shoot the Blackout and didn’t wanna end up in that mess. Plus, if you’d watched any of the t.v. coverage, there must have been a photographer for every one or two persons down there. Plus we got a late start and by the time we made it down there it was pretty much time to start heading back. So I just shot a few shots on the train and around the Jackson and Adams area. Since I didn’t shoot as much street stuff as I wanted, I thought I’d add a few of some of my favorite shots I’d taken down in the loop in my many (13) years of being a Chicagoan. So here we go. Hope you dig!

Jackson and Adams

Jackson and Adams | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Lily and Olympus on the El

Lily and Olympus on the El | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Young Loop Love

Young Loop Love | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Self at Harold Washington Library | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Self at Harold Washington Library | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Off the El

Off the El | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

Up the Escalator

Up the Escalator | Leica M6 Voigtländer 12mm F5.6 Heliar with TRI-X shot at 800

And now some stuff from back in the day. Unfortunately this was back when Flickr only let you upload stuff 800px wide. One of these days I’m going to go back and re-upload larger files.

Lily Shoots Snack Shop

Lily Shoots Snack Shop | Nikon F5 and Nikon 16mm Fisheye

Possibly one of my all time most popular photos on Flickr. I knew as soon as I took it that it was gonna be a good one. This girl was screaming like crazy when the water would rush down from the top of the fountain. I had my F5 with the great Nikon 16mm Fisheye, but really didn’t want to get it soaked in all the water, so decided to use the Holga with my D.I.Y. Fisheye adapter. I think it turned out much better than an F5 shot would have.

SCREAM

SCREAM | Holga

Dan Flavin

Dan Flavin at the MCA | Nikon F5 with 16mm F2.8 Fisheye

Blown Out Lakefront

Blown Out Lakefront | Nikon F5 with Nikon 16mm F2.8 Fisheye. Exposure unrecorded but remember it was really long.

That’s all for now. I’ll do more “back in the day” stuff but right now I have a huge amount of current stuff I still need to catch up on!!! But hey, I do miss Chicago, especially in the summer.

2 thoughts on “Leica in the Loop and some old faves

  1. Pingback: Vintage Leica.. | The Happy Snapper

Leave a Reply

