How Photoshop CS6 Killed My Imac (and I got a Leica)

Sorry I’m so behind on my posting. Last week my Imac’s hard drive bit the dust. I was actually working on a new post about our first day in Tokyo.

I shot a time-lapse of the sun setting over Mount Fuji from the window high up in the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. Unfortunately during the shoot a security guard came and told me I couldn’t use my tiny little UN-obtrusive tripod. So I had to move it and set it down without. This made for a big movement towards the end. I can probably just do a transition in Premiere but at the time I thought it would be a good idea to make an animated GIF of the time-lapse. I opened all the files up in about 165 layers in CS6 and then selected all the layers and chose “auto align.”

I’d done it before for the animated GIF of the building with the flashing lights in Kaohsiung you can see on my blog a couple of posts ago. So I didn’t really think it would be a problem. Set it up on Friday morning and then took off to work. Was excited to see how it worked and thought about it all day. Eight hours later I hurried home and hit my mouse to wake my computer up and check out the amazing job that CS6 had done aligning the mountain and making it a breeze for me to make an awesome animated GIF of the beautiful sunset we’d watched.

Move the mouse. Wait for the computer to wake up. No dice. Hit a key or two. No dice. Nothing. No reaction whatsoever.

Fine. It crashed my computer. It’s been a bit slow since back when I was working on the Radar Eyes video so maybe I’d stressed out the 6 GBs of RAM I had in it. No big deal, so I didn’t get the great aligned GIF after all. Oh well. I’ll just restart my computer and start again.

Nope. It just opened to a gray screen of death with a big “prohibited” sign. I ask Lily to look up what to do and tried all the different remedies for the next few hours. Nothing. Wouldn’t even recognize that there was a hard drive in the computer. Next morning I took it to the shop and, sure enough, the hard drive was DOA. They told me it’d probably be ready early next week. It’s now the next Sunday. They were waiting for a shipment of new hard drives all week that never came.

I really really hope it’s done by tomorrow. I’m using Lily’s laptop right now and it’s fine for looking at the interwebs but I’m really behind on photos and want my computer back so I can get back to real work.

However, on a happier note. DUDE GOT A LEICA!!!!

Dude got a Leica

Dude got a Leica | Shot with my D700

 A friend of mine told me a story about his M6 getting dropped in a bucket of dirty concrete water on a job site and how it cost a couple hundred bucks to get fixed. How many cameras can you say that about? Certainly not any of my digital ones. Just about any other ones, actually. I kept playing that over and over in my mind. Figured I’d sell my Minolta CLE because I wasn’t using it too much lately since it was a little too precious as well. I knew that if the electronics went out it was done for. Well, guess what? Yep. The day I took it into Camera West they asked me when the last time I’d shot with it was. It hadn’t been that long but long enough that it was DOA, too. There was still a roll of film in it that I processed and realized it wasn’t that long at all that I’d shot with it. Took some long-exposure stuff around downtown Berkeley. Maybe that killed it? I don’t know but I now have a pretty Minolta CLE paperweight.

Also I’d been having trouble with the mirror on my FM2 and have pretty much been just shooting it with the 20mm and using it like a rangefinder. It just made sense to move into the Leica world. Lucky to still have the Minolta M-Rokkor 40mm lens from the CLE. Also a Voigtlander 12mm lens because I do like the occasional wide shot. However, I can’t wait to save up and get a proper Leica lens. Hopefully soon. Big thanks to Hal and Dan at Camera West. They were super helpful and also patient when I had an issue with my bank card. Between them and Looking Glass, the Bay Area rules for camera stores and the nerds that frequent them.

Anyway, here’s some stuff I’ve shot with it so far. I’ve just scanned the negatives at my work at Photolab and uploaded them directly from the CD.

Owlet viewers

Owlet viewers | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Oh, here’s a couple of digital shots of the little guy they were looking at. I shot them the same day I got the Leica. I wasn’t sure how long the little owlet would be there so headed up with my D700 and a Sigma 400mm lens I borrowed from a co-worker. Good thing, too, because he was gone when I went back the next weekend.

Great Horned Owlet

Great Horned Owlet | Nikon D700 Sigma 400mm Lens F6.3 1/400 ISO 1250

Great Horned Owlet

Great Horned Owlet | Nikon D700 Sigma 400mm Lens F6.3 1/400 ISO 1250

OK, back to the Leica shots!

Campus Squirrel

Of course a squirrel shot! | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Down on Dwight

A Dude Down on Dwight | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Small Falls

Small Falls | Leica M6 Voigtlander 12mm lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Lily with Ramen

Lily with ramen at Manpuku | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Campenile Leica M6 + 12mm

Campanile Leica M6 + 12mm + Kodak Tri-X

Now let’s try a roll of Kodak Ektar 100 color film, shall we?

Red and Yellow

Red and Yellow

Long boarders are not skateboarders. It’s a mistake often made by the layperson (i.e., non-skateboarder).

Long Boarder

Campus Long Boarder

Telegraph Busker

Telegraph Busker

Hiked up the Hills.

Stadium from Above

Stadium from Above

The flowers were lovely

Berkeley Hills Hike

Berkeley Hills Hike

M.C. from the very awesome “House of Two Bows” blog was at the KALX picnic

Menghsin, Bowdu and Bowpi

M.C. Bowdu and Bowpi | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Menghsin, Bowdu and Bowpi

M.C. Bowdu and Bowpi | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

Bowdu goes crazy

Bowdu goes crazy | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Tri-X Film

We went to the UCMAP awards banquet

Lily at UCMAP Banquet

Lily at UCMAP Banquet | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Ektar 100 Film

Fixing the lights at UCMAP Banquet

Fixing the lights at UCMAP Banquet | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Ektar 100 Film

Lily shot portraits of people with the lovely softbox-like window light.

Lily and David at UCMAP Banquet

Lily and David at UCMAP Banquet | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Ektar 100 Film

I shot a couple, too…

Chris Peterson at UCMAP Banquet

Chris Peterson at UCMAP Banquet | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Ektar 100 Film

Lily at UCMAP Banquet

Lily at UCMAP Banquet | Leica M6 Minolta m-rokkor 40mm F2 lens Kodak Ektar 100 Film

9 thoughts on “How Photoshop CS6 Killed My Imac (and I got a Leica)

  1. Damn, hope the dude down on Dwight was okay!

    Was that the owlet whose mom has been divebombing passersby? Awesome shot! As are all of these. Lily is stunning as ever.

    Also, I’m super excited to see these pics of me and my furry goofballs, since I’m always on the other side of the camera! Just a request — could you please ID me as “M.C.”? Thanks!

    • Sad to hear, not sure if they’re connected or not. The guy at the repair shop told me that the stock WD hard drives are not so great. Mine was going on 4 years old and that’s about how long they last. A coworker of mine who bought his IMAC the same time as mine is now having issues with his as well. Add the Mercury Playback engine in CS6 and it probably runs the machines really hard. I still have LR4 running quite slow for me. Went back to Photoshop CS5 extended. CS6 was just in trial and I can’t really afford the upgrade right now. Or rather I’m fine with CS5. Good luck getting yours fixed and I hope you had everything backed up!

Leave a Reply

