Fun Fun Fun at the 101 (or not so much)

Taipei 101

Taipei 101 and bus | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24mm Lens F9 ISO 200 multiple shots layered in Photoshop

On our last night in Kaohsiung I grabbed a bag of Longans from a small night market. Quite hungry and probably a bit dehydrated, I reached into the bag to crack one open and enjoy its sweet juicy goodness. I think my mistake was in not washing them first. Even though they’re shelled, it’s probably best to wash them before eating. All I could taste for the rest of the night was dirt. I drank some water and tried to get the taste out of my mouth but couldn’t quite get rid of it. Once we were back at the hotel I washed them really good and had a few more. I think my taste was spoiled and I just didn’t really like these.

Kaohsiung Night Market 6

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans) | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans) | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Kaohsiung Night Market 10

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans) | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Kaohsiung Night Market (not where I got the dirty longans) | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F6 1/125 ISO 1600

Next morning we hopped the High Speed Rail back to Taipei. I wasn’t feeling that bad but had a sorta uneasy thing going on. At one point in the train station I was inspecting a billboard close up to check out the pixels etc, ‘cuz that’s what printers do. All of a sudden I felt really dizzy or like I was going to pass out. I got some tea and sat down but wasn’t feeling quite right. We hopped on the train and I set up a time-lapse and put Rose Tattoo on my headphones. Feeling good watching the beauty of Taiwan fly by my window.

Get to Taipei, check into our hotel and then head straight for the 101 to catch the sunset. The line to the top was long and I didn’t wanna risk being stuck in it if my tummy went wacky. Instead we headed outside to shoot from street level trying to catch the fading days light and mix it with the bustling traffic and fast-moving clouds.

Taipei 101-3

Taipei 101-3 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 and too much post processing with the free perfect effects software. But my skies were falling apart in some of these and figured what the hell, maybe this would save it?

Taipei 101 Love 1

Taipei 101 Love 1 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 Lens F9 30 seconds

Taipei 101 Love 2

Taipei 101 Love 1 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 Lens F9 15 seconds

Taipei 101 and some art

Taipei 101 and some art | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F5.6 multiple exposures merged to HDR

A wedding couple drove up quick with their photographer and assistant and shot a few portraits in front of the “love” sculpture. Perfect setting, I imagine there’s a lot of those shots out there.

It was cool watching him work but the wind was really picking up and I felt bad for the bride. They were quick though. I set my camera similar to how I figured his lights were set and tried to snipe a few shots.

Taipei 101 Wedding Couple

Taipei 101 Wedding Couple | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F5.6 ISO 400 1.3 seconds

Around this point Lily was freezing and we were both hungry. However for some reason I wasn’t cold at all and it was really windy. We headed into the mall area to get some dinner at the infamous 101 food court. First we stopped for a moment in the mall area and I was really making myself dizzy shooting the interior.

Taipei 101 interior 1

Taipei 101 interior 1 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F4.5 ISO 800 Multiple shots merged to HDR in HDR Efex Pro

Taipei 101 interior 1 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F4.5 ISO 800 Multiple shots merged to HDR in HDR Efex Pro

Taipei 101 interior 2 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F4.5 ISO 800 Multiple shots merged to HDR in HDR Efex Pro

Had a really hard decision to make concerning what to eat. So many great options in the food court! I went with a beef noodle soup dish that was wonderful. Really hit the spot.

Taipei 101 food court goodness

Taipei 101 food court goodness | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F4.5 1/300 ISO 1250

Except, it also hit another spot. The one that was probably food poisoning from the dirty longans. I got really nauseous and knew I had to get back to the hotel. No train, we need a cab. Luckily the cab line at the 101 is quite efficient and we weren’t too far from our hotel. I spent the rest of the night tossing some cookies and hugging the toilet bowl. Then completely wiped out and in bed. Unable to even move. It was rough. Somehow I managed to set up some time-lapse stuff from our hotel window and it looks pretty great. I’ll be posting those soon. Just do yourself a favor though, wash your longans!

7 thoughts on “Fun Fun Fun at the 101 (or not so much)

  1. My goodness. These are such powerful shots. They speak volumes of the culture, the architecture and the sheer beauty of Kaohsiung and Taipei. I would love to be as talented as you one day at taking stunning pictures! You make it look so easy! Your food poisoning episode was most unfortunate though! But I hope you’re all better now! This was a great post. Thank you for sharing. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  2. Oyster pancake photos made me hungry! And I’ve never seen those oyster/egg pastry things before. Sorry about the food poisoning Chris!! Gotta wash all fruit in Taiwan!

Leave a Reply

