First Night in Kaohsiung

It was a quick train ride from Tainan to Kaohsiung. It was late in the day by the time we arrived so we hurried to get to the 85 Sky Tower for sunset. Made it just in the nick of time to catch an amazing one. Once the sun was down lightning was going off in the distance. Unfortunately for me the reflections in the glass mixed with the convex of the ultra wide sigma lens I was using was just killing me. I tried wrapping a sweatshirt around the lens in front of the glass and a bunch of stuff but nothing was really working so I didn’t really get the shots I was hoping for. The couple sunsets shots I got came out ok but I was a bit disappointed at the lack of good night and lightning shots. Well, one sorta came out. I’ll put it after this one. A really dark room or HUGE lens hood wold have been ideal but what the hell, these aren’t that bad I suppose.

Kaohsiung Harbor sunset from the 85 Sky Tower 2

Kaohsiung Harbor sunset from the 85 Sky Tower 2 | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 lens F16 8 seconds ISO 100

Kaohsiung Lightning

Kaohsiung Lightning | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F8 22 Seconds ISO 200

I gotta say the elevator ride was really really fun!

Time Warp

Time Warp | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F5.6 6 seconds ISO 400

85 Sky Tower at Night

85 Sky Tower at Night | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F8 ISO 400 multiple exposures worked in LR4 and merged with CS5

There was some interesting architecture around the area but it was raining on and off so we didn’t stick around for too many shots. This is about all I got.

Around the 85 Sky Tower

Around the 85 Sky Tower | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F7.1 5 seconds at ISO 400

Around the 85 Sky Tower

Around the 85 Sky Tower | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F7.1 Multiple Exposures merged in Photoshop CS5

2 thoughts on “First Night in Kaohsiung

Leave a Reply

