DNA Light Trails

Saturday night we headed up to the Lawrence Hall of Science for their free star-gazing session. It was a bit windy and I knew my better half wouldn’t wanna be there too long so while she went to check out the telescopes I headed right for the DNA sculpture. I had my super-fast 24mm F1.4 mounted on my D700. Opened it all the way and set the ISO to 3200 and the exposure time to 5 seconds just to get an idea of the composition. After a couple of shots it looked good, so I then switched to F8 at ISO 400 for 30 seconds. I didn’t bring my remote switch so the longest exposure I could make was 30 seconds. I then set up the interval timer to shoot one shot every 40 seconds for about 20 shots or whenever she decided we should leave.  As the shot was exposing, I took out my little LED light and ran around it. Took me about the whole 30 seconds to get all the way around it while spinning my arm.  Made a couple of exposures just lighting up the front. All in all I think it turned out pretty well considering I only had one chance to get it right. Re: post-production, I made a few minor adjustments in LR4 then exported and opened in a program called Starstax, which does a really great job of merging all the shots together to give you those lovely star trails. So with about 20 shots at 30 seconds I guess the exposure was around 10 minutes.

Can’t wait to go back with my 12mm and a lot more time to play around.

DNA Star Trails

DNA Star Trails | Nikon D700 24mm F1.4 lens at F8 10 minute exposure at ISO 400

Huge thanks to my buddy Joe Reifer. His blog is a wealth of knowledge for all things night photography.

One of these days I’ll be able to attend one of his and Troy Paiva’s workshops.

One thought on “DNA Light Trails

Leave a Reply

