Tainan on Film part 2 (Dude on Film + More)

Continuing with the filmy film good time fun in Tainan. At some point I reckoned it would be a great idea to start shooting a bunch of self-portraits with the FM2’s self-timer. I think Lily was probably sick of me taking pics of her so why not? Plus I’d just sorta started to think I really needed to lose some weight so I could use these as “before” shots. I dropped a few pounds before going on the trip but nowhere near my goal. So enjoy some photos of the husky gentleman with his Domke bag and the new Nikes he bought because his feet were sore from carrying his husky frame all over Taiwan!

“Please can I eat all the popcorn with hot peanuts and drink all the beer I want without gaining a shit load of weight?”

Self Confucius Temple-6

Self "Praying" Confucius Temple | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

I look mad in this shot because I just knew that I wasn’t going to spot my pics before posting them.

Self Confucius Temple

Self at Confucius Temple | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

Lily looks much better on film

Lily at Confucius Temple 2

Lily at Confucius Temple | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

Is this some kind of illusion or just two dudes wearing the same gear standing in just the right spot?

Confucius Temple

Confucius Temple | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the focus thing. My FM2 has a wonky mirror. It doesn’t sit flat like it should so my focus is off. I tried to get it fixed but dude at camera store said no dice. I thought about bringing my F5 but it’s just too heavy. Opted instead to just shoot with the 20mm and figured the width would keep me safe. I used the range scale on the lens but it was hit or miss, especially if shooting at 2.8 or so. One of the other reasons my self-portraits worked better. Set it at 5.6 or 8 and you’re there.

This one is just motion blur because with the larger F-stop you gotta use a slower shutter. Still works here, though, I think.

Tainan Biker on film

Tainan Biker | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

Got better at it as the day went one

Go Players in Tainan

Go Players in Tainan | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

Just to prove I’m not a total Nikon fan-boy, here I am with a Canon!

Dude with Canon shot by Nikon

Dude with Canon shot by Nikon | Nikon FM2 20mm and Tri-X

Dude on Flim Tainan

Dude on Flim Tainan | Nikon FM2 20mm lens Kodak Tri-X

After the sun started going down I broke out the color film.

Stopped for some amazing noodles at this Michelin rated restaurant. Owned by the 4th generation of the founder’s family. It was well worth the hype and at least one of the reasons I’d like to return to Tainan some day. (thanks Rough Guide)

Tu Hsiao Yueh (Slack Season Tan Tsai Noodles)

Tu Hsiao Yueh (Slack Season Tan Tsai Noodles) | Nikon FM2 20mm Lens and Agfa color film

Here’s some stuff from around the Confucius Temple and back by the train station.

Outside the Confucius Temple

Outside the Confucius Temple | Nikon FM2 20mm Kodak Ektar 100

Tainan Red Wall Confucius Cultural Zone

Tainan Red Wall Confucius Cultural Zone | Nikon FM2 20mm Kodak Ektar 100

Tainan Twilight Scooters

Tainan Twilight Scooters | Nikon FM2 20mm Kodak Ektar 100

Old Fire Brigade Building Tainan

Old Fire Brigade Building Tainan | Nikon FM2 20mm Agfa Color Film

Old Fire Brigade Building Tainan

Around the bend Tainan | Nikon FM2 20mm Agfa Color Film

2 thoughts on “Tainan on Film part 2 (Dude on Film + More)

Leave a Reply

