Taichung Morning

Still jetlagged, I woke up early on our second day in Taichung. I headed over to the park across the street. It was still quite dark when I got out so I figured I’d get some shots of the cool pedestrian bridge across from the park. Tried a couple of panoramic shots and some really wide ones with my 12mm lens.  The cool blue morning light was coming up and worked well with the big moon. Shot multiple shots of cars going by to get the car light trails. Opened in Photoshop and made layers with blend mode set to “lighten.”

Once the sky really started to turn I headed over to the park. Shot long exposures of the pond to try to capture some pretty water but wasn’t terribly thrilled with those. Then started stalking some ducks and got a few good shots of them. Then right as the really good light was coming up, I got stopped by a COP! Uh, oh… scruffy me in a foreign land where I don’t speak the language, running around with two cameras and a tripod, chasing ducks and trying not to run into old folks doing tai chi. I was a bit nervous. Luckily he spoke English and was actually really quite friendly. We chatted a bit and I think once I mentioned that my better half (back at the hotel) did martial arts we got into a very long discussion about weapons, self-defense and survival-type stuff. They’re things I do have an interest in but since most of my money goes into traveling and camera gear, I pretty much just read the books and barely pick up a few things here and there for when the “S.H.T.F.”

Unfortunately as we were talking the really nice warm morning light was bathing the park in its orange and yellow beauty. I sorta wanted to excuse myself but it was actually really interesting and I quite enjoyed Officer Peter Peng’s company. So I missed a few “magic hour” shots. I still had several days of Taiwan left to go. Plus how often do you get to talk to a Taichung police officer about the finer points of fashioning home-made weapons to defend yourself against the hordes?

Anyway, here are some of the shots, with one of my new friend at the end.

Taichung Moon and overpass in the early morning

Taichung Moon and overpass in the early morning | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 Lens 15 and 30 second shots stacked in Photoshop ISO 200

Taichung Overpass HDR in the very early morning

Taichung Overpass HDR in the very early morning | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 three bracketed shots merged to HDR

Moon over Taichung park pond just before the sunrise

Moon over Taichung park pond just before the sunrise | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 ISO 200 72 seconds at F22

Excited Duck

Excited Duck | Nikon D700 Sigma 12-24 F16 1/6 iso 100

I shot some film too!

Taichung Park Pond morning film

Taichung Park Pond morning film | Nikon FM2 20mm Kodak Ektar 100 film and a really long exposure at about F22

Officer Peter Pang

Officer Peter Pang | Nikon FM2 20mm Kodak Ektar 100 exposure unrecorded

One thought on “Taichung Morning

Leave a Reply

