2013 HoZac Blackout Day 1

So last month I found myself once again back in Chicago for another installment of the HoZac Blackout Fest. It’s been almost three weeks and I’m still recovering!

Had a great time though yet again and I reckon it’s about time I share some of my photos and videos from the long weekend.

First night was an opening-night art show reception like the previous couple of years and this one was top notch indeed.

Here’s the poster

First up were The Sleaze from Minneapolis, MN. Snotty minimalist punk that was a perfect start for what was to come and maybe one of my favorites to shoot of the weekend.

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

The Sleaze

Negative Scanner from Chicago was up next and even though their name reminds me of what I do at work all day long the music itself was quite good. Dig the video to get a taste of what I mean. Seriously, good stuff. At least they’re not named “Mounted Slide Scanner” or “Dip and Dunk Machine.” How about “C-41 Roll Processor”? ” “Contact Sheet Enlarger”? OK, I should quit while I’m behind (although “Giclee Pigment Printer” has a nice ring to it). Anyway, great stuff. Dig.

Negative Scanner

Negative Scanner

Negative Scanner

Negative Scanner

Negative Scanner

Negative Scanner

Mike Rep and Tommy Jay rounded up the night with material from their 1974 Grim-O-Comix LP.  Some folks REALLY liked it. Others not so much. Either way it was quite interesting and the guys were great, talking to everyone after the show, signing autographs and taking pictures. I didn’t shoot any video but seijinlee did so I’ll include his video.

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Mike Rep & Tommy Jay

Stay tuned for more from the weekend!

All (except the Tommy Jay & Mike Rep video) shot with my Nikon D600 and mostly the 20mm lens. A few with the 50mm 1.8G.

Leave a comment